Allocation of government school education

An allocation of 26 semesters of government school education for each child in the Northern Territory (NT) has been implemented under the new Education Act.

From 1 January 2016, the allocation of government school education applies to all students enrolled at Northern Territory government primary, middle and senior secondary schools.

Every student enrolled in an NT government school is entitled to receive an allocation of 26 semesters (13 years) of government school education from transition to year 12.

Current students will be allocated the number of semesters they need to finish school calculated from 1 January 2016. For example, a student enrolled in year 5 at the commencement of Semester 1, 2016 will have a remaining allocation of 16 semesters, which will allow them the time they need to finish year 12.

From now on, students who enrol in a government school at any time after transition will be allocated the balance of semesters required to finish school at the end of year 12.

Students can apply for an additional allocation if they need more time to complete their schooling.

For more information, read the guidelines and application forms below:


School Operations

Last updated: 23 September 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!