Independent public schools

Independent public schools were first introduced in the Territory in 2015 as part of a school improvement initiative by increasing school autonomy.

Independent public schools is an Australian Government initiative to give school communities a greater say in the way schools are administered and education programs are delivered.

All government schools benefit from increased autonomy with the introduction of global school budgets.

Independent public schools benefit from even greater autonomy in:

  • staff selection
  • financial management
  • governance
  • teaching and learning programs.

Independent public schools are a part of the public education system and adhere to industrial relations and other relevant legislative boundaries, but operate under different accountability and governance structures to other government schools.

Current independent public schools

There are currently 14 independent public schools in the Northern Territory:

  • Bakewell Primary School
  • Braitling Primary School
  • Casuarina Senior College
  • Casuarina Street Primary School
  • Darwin Middle School
  • Darwin High School
  • Driver Primary School
  • Durack Primary School
  • Gunbalanya School
  • Larrakeyah Primary School
  • Leanyer Primary School
  • Palmerston Senior College
  • Taminmin College
  • Wulagi Primary School


For further information email:

Last updated: 22 January 2016

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!