NTBOS board members

The board meets approximately four times per year.

Following the introduction of the Education Act 2015, NTBOS now has a mixed model of membership with 11 members including six education experts.

Membership includes two nominees of Catholic Education Office and Association of Independent Schools NT, four key stakeholder representatives - parents, teachers, employers and Indigenous people - and one departmental officer.

This model brings a balance of views to NTBOS and maintains the cooperative arrangement between the government and non-government school sectors in the NT.

The NTBOS can set up committees which will allow the board to inform itself on specific matters and seek the views of particular stakeholder groups.

The new model for NTBOS commenced on 1 July 2016.

Read more about key changes to legislation.

Current members

Mr Ralph Wiese


Chair of the Board, Mr Ralph Wiese worked in education for 40 years, beginning his career as a teacher at Darwin High School in 1964 then advancing to positions such as senior teacher, assistant principal and principal. He also worked in office based positions including superintendent and general manager before retiring in 2004. Although retired, Ralph maintains a keen interest in all things education and brings a wealth of skill and experience to the position. Ralph’s formal qualifications include a Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Commerce and Diploma of Teaching (Secondary).

Vicki Baylis

Vicki Baylis 

Ms Baylis has strong professional experience and expertise in a variety of areas including educational leadership, teaching, learning and inclusion, literacy and numeracy issues, remote schooling and policy.

Greg Bicknell

Greg Bicknell 

Mr Bicknell has over 16 years’ experience with the NT Chamber of Commerce Northern Territory, with three of those years as the Chief Executive Officer. He has an excellent understanding of the needs of employers in the Northern Territory across a range of issues, including the need for skilled staff in the Northern Territory and the role that education and training play in preparing local people for employment. He is aware of the issues around numeracy and literacy for young people entering the workforce with minimal qualifications.

Rachel Boyce

Rachel Boyce

Ms Rachel Boyce is currently the Principal of Good Shepherd Lutheran School in Darwin; she has over 20 years of experience as an educator working in a range of schools in both regional and metropolitan areas with students from the early years through to Year 12, most of these within the Northern Territory.
She has experience in Indigenous and International education, and has held leadership positions within the schools she has worked in both Curriculum Coordination and Pastoral Care of students.
Her formal qualifications include a Bachelor of Education, Masters of Education and a Graduate Diploma in Theology. Her passion in education is for students to experience challenging and contextual learning, supported by quality educational programs and with a strong emphasis on student well-being.

Anne Donnelly

Anne Donnelly

Ms Donnelly is currently acting as Assistant Principal Darwin High School assuming responsibility for the Year 12 cohort completing their final year of schooling. This builds on the work she has done as a practising teacher (Northern Territory Certificate of Education and Training Coordinator) at Darwin High School since 2007 where she developed processes and procedures for complying with systemic requirements. Ms Donnelly has extensive experience in the delivery of educational programs and curriculum development. Ms Donnelly has worked in remote school settings.

Professor Peter Kell

Professor Peter Kell is the Pro Vice Chancellor of Law, Education, Business and Arts at Charles Darwin University. He was previously Head of the School of Education at Charles Darwin University from 2011-2016. Professor Kell joined CDU from the Hong Kong Institute of Education where he was previously the Director of the Hong Kong UNESCO UNEVOC centre. Professor Kell’s current research includes projects in international education, global student mobility and international literacy and numeracy testing. Prof Kell has also been a member of the Northern Territory Teacher Registration Board since 2011.

Paul Mathews


Mr Paul Mathews represents the interests of head teachers of secondary schools and is the current principal, Casuarina Senior College. Mr Mathews has 11 years of experience as a secondary school principal in a range of schools in the Western Australian Education Department and more recently the Northern Territory Department of Education. He has extensive knowledge of secondary school curriculum. He was recognised as the Western Australian Secondary Principal of the Year in 2012. Since November 2014, as principal of Casuarina Secondary College, he has commenced school revitalisation processes, expanded vocational education and training (VET) opportunities and commenced the implementation of marine pathways VET programs for 2016.

Chris Pollard

Chris Pollard 

Mr Christopher Pollard has over 35 years of experience in Catholic Education encompassing a variety of school based teaching and leadership roles as well as CEO based support and leadership positions. He currently holds the position of Deputy Director, Teaching and Learning at the Catholic Education Officer, Darwin. Mr Pollard has a Diploma of Teaching, Bachelor of Education (primary), Graduate Diploma in Computing and a Graduate Diploma in Legal Studies.

Charles Richardson

Charles Richardson 

Mr Richardson currently holds the position of School Council Chairperson at Centralian Senior Secondary College in Alice Springs. Mr Richardson is the Public Officer on the NTCOGSO Executive team and was a University lecturer in the Northern Territory from 1985-2005. Mr Richardson has a son who is in his final year of schooling at Centralian Senior Secondary College.

Cheryl Salter

Cheryl Salter 

Ms Cheryl Salter is the Deputy Director of the Association of Independent Schools of the Northern Territory (AISNT). Ms Salter has more than 30 years of experience as an educator in Catholic and Independent Schools in the Northern Territory. She has held various leadership positions in non-government schools. In her current role, Ms Salter works closely with Northern Territory and Australian Government representatives and their agencies, representing and advocating for Independent Schools. She provides services and guidance to Independent Schools on professional issues, including school governance, school leadership, curriculum, teaching and learning, policy and legislative requirements. Ms Salter has represented and contributed to several key bodies at Territory and Federal level, on behalf of Independent Schools in the Northern Territory.

Pauline Schober

Pauline Schober 

Ms Pauline Schober is the current teaching schools coordinator managing the partnership agreement between Charles Darwin University School of Education and the Northern Territory Government Department of Education. Within this role Ms Schober is committed to supporting Schools, Educational Leaders and Pre-Service Teachers to ensure ongoing quality educators and education within the Northern Territory. Ms Schobers’ teaching experience includes working at all levels in education including early years, primary, secondary and senior secondary. Ms Schober has a Bachelor in Business and Masters of Education completed at Charles Darwin University with a specific focus on Indigenous education and community engagement in education.

Last updated: 12 October 2017