School suspensions

Suspension data is reported every school term.

Information about this data:

  1. The average enrolment number is the average enrolments of students over the reporting period.
  2. Data in this report is sourced from the NT Department of Education's enrolment and attendance and behaviour data set.
  3. np = not publishable as enrolments are less than 12 and/or the number of students suspended is less than 12.
  4. Data is current at the time of publication.
  5. Data on suspensions is subject to change. This data should be considered indicative only.
  6. Number of students suspended is the number of individual students that have been suspended. A student can be suspended more than once.
  7. From the start of 2018, Rosebery Middle School and Palmerston Senior College were combined to form Palmerston College. During Term 2 2018, Malak Re-Engagement Centre changed its name to Top End School of Flexible Learning.

Suspension is focused on ensuring that the wellbeing and safety of students and staff is maintained, so learning can be conducted in a safe and supportive environment.

In addition to the Suspension Guidelines PDF (888.7 KB), schools have behaviour management policies and processes in place to deescalate negative behaviour, re-engage students and promote wellbeing. These have been developed in consultation with the school council or board to ensure that it is reflective of the school and its values.

2020 Average Enrolment and Suspension Data - Full Year

SchoolAverage EnrolmentNumber of Students Suspended
Acacia Hill School90np
Adelaide River School450
Alawa Primary School319np
Alcoota School200
Alekarenge School1000
Alice Springs School of the Air1260
Alpurrurulam School990
Alyangula Area School208np
Alyarrmandumanja Umbakumba School600
Amanbidji School140
Amoonguna School24np
Ampilatwatja School970
Angurugu School92np
Anula Primary School441np
Areyonga School350
Arlparra School242np
Bakewell Primary School927np
Baniyala Garrangali School36np
Barunga School1000
Batchelor Area School111np
Bees Creek Primary School381np
Belyuen School27np
Berry Springs Primary School242np
Bonya Schoolnpnp
Borroloola School202np
Bradshaw Primary School512np
Braitling Primary School28312
Bulla Camp School140
Bulman School660
Canteen Creek School440
Casuarina Senior College91157
Casuarina Street Primary School4160
Centralian Middle School32685
Centralian Senior College42745
Clyde Fenton Primary School20823
Darwin High School124845
Darwin Middle School86547
Douglas Daly Schoolnpnp
Dripstone Middle School52336
Driver Primary School519np
Dundee Beach School200
Durack Primary School463np
Elliott School640
Epenarra School460
Finke School290
Forrest Parade School1020
Gapuwiyak School215np
Gillen Primary School2440
Girraween Primary School5050
Gray Primary School33114
Gunbalanya School242np
Haasts Bluff School270
Harts Range School66np
Henbury School141np
Howard Springs Primary School291np
Humpty Doo Primary School39324
Imanpa School180
Jabiru Area School193np
Jilkminggan School830
Jingili Primary School311np
Kalkaringi School1810
Karama Primary School188np
Katherine High School55187
Katherine School of the Air1970
Katherine South Primary School345np
Kintore Street School550
Lajamanu School205np
Laramba School650
Larapinta Primary School372np
Larrakeyah Primary School5310
Laynhapuy Homelands School1290
Leanyer Primary School577np
Ludmilla Primary School118np
MacFarlane Primary School20717
Malak Primary School216np
Mamaruni School570
Maningrida College5730
Manunda Terrace Primary School171np
Manyallaluk School250
Mataranka School33np
Mbunghara School18np
Middle Point School290
Milikapiti School64np
Milingimbi School3340
Millner Primary School211np
Milyakburra School150
Minyerri School18322
Moil Primary School198np
Moulden Primary School271np
Mount Allan School460
Mulga Bore School140
Murray Downs School160
Mutitjulu School330
Nakara Primary School591np
Nemarluk School1740
Neutral Junction School220
Newcastle Waters School180
Nganambala School260
Nganmarriyanga School1340
Ngukurr School26517
Nhulunbuy High School317np
Nhulunbuy Primary School420np
Nightcliff Middle School36527
Nightcliff Primary School6560
Northern Territory School of Distance Education4930
Ntaria School182np
Numbulwar School147np
Nyirripi School430
Palmerston College1208157
Papunya School1210
Parap Primary School5070
Peppimenarti School61np
Pigeon Hole School270
Pine Creek School44np
Pularumpi School460
Ramingining School266np
Robinson River School530
Rockhampton Downs School260
Rosebery Primary School51614
Ross Park Primary School4820
Sadadeen Primary School236np
Sanderson Middle School39299
Shepherdson College551np
Stirling School170
Stuart Park Primary School6550
Taminmin College1170172
Tennant Creek High School201np
Tennant Creek Primary School39629
Timber Creek School37np
Tipperary Station Schoolnpnp
Titjikala School360
Ti Tree School640
Top End School of Flexible Learning830
Urapunga School290
Wagaman Primary School300np
Wallace Rockhole School240
Walungurru School570
Wanguri Primary School387np
Warruwi School104np
Watarrka Schoolnpnp
Watiyawanu School53np
Willowra School72np
Woodroffe Primary School453np
Woolaning Schoolnpnp
Woolianna School42np
Wugularr School1400
Wulagi Primary School27116
Yarralin School56np
Yirrkala School1490
Yuendumu School2360
Yulara School480
Zuccoli Primary School1630

Suspension statistics archive

Last updated: 15 June 2021

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!