Commissioners meet in Katherine

The Northern Territory Learning Commission in Katherine, comprising students, teachers and school leaders from six local schools, works to enhance students’ motivation and learning throughout the region.

The participating schools are Casuarina Street, Clyde Fenton, Katherine South and MacFarlane primary schools, Katherine High School and Katherine School of the Air.

At an 11 August meeting, the commissioners introduced prototype programs for creating a culture of high expectation in schools and to maximise students’ involvement.

Casuarina Street School principal John Cleary said: “The commission aims to provide students, teachers and school leaders with the opportunity to work alongside each other to identify, test and refine solutions for use in their own schools, and across the area.

“On 9 October, the students will join a Contender Charlie team and consider their roles as school leaders. They will present their outcomes and recommendations for the region in November.”

NTLC Katherine